Rangers who heed the calling of the Hunter are no mere trappers or furriers. They are the last line of defense between the natural and the supernatural world. Hunters seek, stalk, and slay monstrous predators like outsiders, fiends, and undead who devastate populations with their malign magic.

Hunter Progression

Ranger LevelFeatures
3rdHunter Calling Spells, Killer Instinct, Relentless Pursuit
7thFavored Foe
11thNo Escape
15thPredator’s Shield

Hunter Calling Spells

3rd-Level Hunter Feature

You gain calling spells at the ranger levels listed in the Hunter Calling Spells table. See the Ranger Subclass class feature for how these spells work.

Hunter Calling Spells

Ranger LevelSpells
3rdprotection from evil and good
5thmisty step
17thgreater hold

Killer Instinct

3rd-Level Hunter Feature

As a bonus action, choose a creature within 60 feet of you that you can see. You immediately learn the creature’s immunities, resistances, and vulnerabilities, or you learn if it has none. This feature doesn’t function if the target is magically concealed by a nondetection spell or similar effect that counters divination magic.

You can use this feature a number of times equal to your PB and regain all uses of it when you finish a long rest.

Relentless Pursuit

3rd-Level Hunter Feature

Your tenacity wears down even potent foes. When you hit a creature with a weapon attack, you deal extra damage if the target is below its hit point maximum. The extra damage is equal to the amount your Mystic Mark feature deals at your level and is of the same damage type as the weapon. You can deal this extra damage only once per turn.

Favored Foe

7th-Level Hunter Feature

As part of a long rest, you can spend time reviewing your research and preparing to face a specific type of monster.

Choose a type of enemy: Aberration, Beast, Celestial, Construct, Dragon, Elemental, Fey, Fiend, Giant, Monstrosity, Ooze, Plant, or Undead. For 24 hours, creatures of that type have disadvantage on attack rolls against you. You also have advantage on saves against being charmed, frightened, or possessed by them.

At the end of your next long rest, you can choose the same type of creature or a different creature type as your Favored Foe.

No Escape

11th-Level Hunter Feature

When a creature marked by your mystic mark attempts to move, you can use your reaction to magically teleport up to 30 feet. If you teleport to a space within your weapon’s reach of the target, you can immediately make an opportunity attack as part of the same reaction.

Predator’s Shield

15th-Level Hunter Feature

When you take damage from a creature you can see, you can use your reaction to supernaturally ward yourself against that creature for a short time. You have resistance to all damage dealt by the target for 1 minute, including resistance to the damage dealt by the triggering attack. This effect ends early if you become incapacitated.

Once used, this feature can’t be used again until you finish a long rest.

Ad Blocker Detected

Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors. Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker.